If Instagram is asking you for a video selfie, it is for one of two reasons:
- You cannot log into your account, and Instagram Support needs to verify it is you before resetting your password.
- You have tried to change your age from under 18 to 18 or older, and Instagram needs to verify your age.
A video selfie is a video you take selfie-style and turn your head in different directions. The movement helps Instagram avoid classifying altered photos or videos as the actual person.
Whatever the reason, keep reading to learn more about Instagram’s Video Selfie and what happens if you send it.
Instagram Video Selfie Verification To Recover Your Account
You should try using a login link or security code to recover your Instagram account. If both options do not work, you should contact Instagram for support.
When you submit a support request, you will be asked to take and send a video selfie.
The video selfie is not visible to anyone on Instagram and will be deleted within 30 days. It helps Instagram personnel confirm you are an actual person and the person in your photos. They don’t use facial recognition to verify your identity.
A video selfie confirms to Instagram it is actually you trying to log back in. If your video selfie is acceptable, Instagram will email you a link to reset your password. If your first video selfie is not accepted, you can send another one to try again.
Instagram Video Selfie Verification To Change Your Age
Instagram is exploring novel ways to approach age verification. The minimum age to use Instagram is 13 years old, and Instagram wants to ensure that users changing their age are truthfully doing so. If users are under 18, Instagram aims to provide them with age-appropriate experiences. So if you change your age on Instagram from under 18 to over 18, Instagram will ask for age verification.
You can verify your age in three ways:
- Upload a video selfie
- Provide a valid ID
- Pick three out of six randomly chosen followers to vouch for your age. None should be family members.
Instagram partnered with Yoti, a London-based digital identity startup. When you send a video selfie, it gets sent to Yoti for artificial intelligence to analyze. Yoti’s specially trained AI only estimates your age and doesn’t identify you. Once the verification process is complete, your video selfie is deleted on both platforms.
When you send a video selfie or your personal ID, you use an internet connection to send valuable information to a server. Cybercriminals may gain access to your sensitive information if they intercept your connection. To protect yourself and your data, get personal cybersecurity from Agency. Agency provides 24/7 comprehensive and affordable cybersecurity threat monitoring and response, with the first month being free!